Strength through Hebrews 12

Running the Race to Peace

No, Really, I’m Starting TODAY!!! January 23, 2011

Filed under: Strength of Body — heb121 @ 10:38 am
Tags: , , ,

As the Nike ad says, “Just Do It!”

I’ve spent the last couple of weeks “preparing” to renew and strengthen myself– I’ve dusted off my collection of P90X dvd’s, purchased lots of green vegetables and a container of “Super Greens” drink, rediscovered the significance of bible study, learned my brain is 20 years older than me, and almost gave myself a heart attack when I took my physical measurements (I fully believe that scales were created by the devil himself). There is nothing left to do except the work itself. As Hebrews 12:1 states, “…let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” It sounds so easy, right? I mean, just get rid of my vices and run. So why I am I freaking out? Because my vices are my vices… would I rather have a glass of wine (or two) and a sweet treat, or would I rather go out and run? HELLO… is this even a question? Of course, there is part of me that wants to continue on the same path I’ve been leading the last year because change is scary and junk food is tasty, but continuing on this path is going to keep me stuck in a place I don’t want to be; I will continue to get sick, be depressed, isolate from friends and family, avoid work, and just be all around miserable. It’s crazy to me how split-brained I can be– it’s like I’m two different people in the same body– Healthy Me and Unmotivated Me. Well, Unmotivated Me, it’s time for you to take up less space is this too large body– out with your pessimism and who cares attitude, out with lying around watching TV for hours, out with living a life in isolation– there’s a new sheriff in town and starting today, things are going to change (cue theme music from “The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly”).

 

Leave a Reply

